top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureA Resilient Gouda

Optimism & Holiday Cheer

Each month, I make a list of self-intentions. This month, they're actually one of the reasons I started my blog. I put them on a giant cork board next to my bed so I can read them each day when I wake up, setting a positive mind set for the day ahead. This month, after several wake up calls (see Waking Up post), a very recent car accident that totaled my car, and being 8 days away from Christmas, I am following my list of self-intentions now more than ever because I think I have needed them now more than ever, without even knowing it. It's as if I set my intentions almost knowing I would need them along the road ahead of me. Call it self-manifestation, the universe giving me a "heads up", or whatever type of humbling self reassurance you believe in. But I truly think that in a twisted round about way, finally allowing myself to be out of control of my plans and giving back to myself through things that bring me an abundance of joy, when things have gotten really rocky this month (especially this week), waking up and reading my self-intentions has opened my eyes even more to the self-power that writing, reading and following a list of creative self-love affiliated daily resolutions and goals brings to me.


A huge component of my self-intentions this month was to remember that I am what I manifest.


I am a believer of manifestation. If you manifest each day by believing that you have bad luck, then you indeed will bring bad luck unto yourself. Likewise, if you wake up each day and manifest that joy, love and good luck lay ahead of you, then your day will be overflowing with happiness and all of its wonders. And listen, we all have bad days. For crying out loud I totaled my car not even a week ago! Things happen, bad news comes your way from time to time. How you go about accepting that news and moving forward from it, is what is so vital to your decisions along your life's journey. I am still learning a LOT about this, and believe me it's not always a big ol' slice of sweet apple pie. But, from practicing positive self-manifestation more, I truly have seen a positive change in myself, in my day-to-day habits, and how I react in different situations.


Along with positive manifestation, as the holidays approach us, I especially think it's important to make sure that we all stop and remind ourselves that we can't pour from an empty cup. Another intention on my list this month is to love myself first, so that I can give my best love to others. I have learned so often that it is almost impossible to give your purest form of love and kindness to those that matter most in your life if you don't give the most unconditional care and compassion to yourself first. And during, as Andy Williams so beautifully sings it, the most wonderful time of the year, it's even more vital to remind ourselves that as we give love and offer so much time and energy to others, it's okay to take time for you, too! For me, that often looks like an early morning run or yoga class, an evening spent alone working on my art, a beach walk with Gabe, or, a quiet afternoon spent writing. Whatever you need to reset your mind and clear your head, don't forget that to be able to fully give to others, you have to fully give to yourself.


With all of this being said, I just want to point out that I'm no expert at any of my self-intentions. That's typically why I set them monthly - to practice them and to get better at things that I find are extremely important for my well-being and overall happiness! Practice makes perfect, and as a lot of things in my life continue to change and grow, I fully plan on continuing with my practice of creating monthly self-intentions so that I can improve on my self-love and care! Even if we are half way through December, finish off 2018 by creating a list that you get to wake up to every morning that makes you smile and encourages you! I highly recommend giving it a try if you don't already, it's a magical experience to see how much influence and inspiration you can have over yourself.


You hold the power of positivity and creating more self-love! I know you do - I manifested it!


Much love, and happy holidays!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page